Book Contest

The W.A. Deacon Literary Foundation (DLF) and our partners the Bibliographical Society of Canada (BSC) and the Alcuin Society are pleased to announce the Third National Book Collecting Contest for young Canadians under 30 years of age. Our sponsors for 2011-12 are ABE Books, the National Post, CBC  Books and Hemlock Printers. Please see the complete Official Rules in English and French on the separate tabs.


The first Canadian National Book Collecting Contest was developed for the Bibliographical Society of Canada (BSC) in 2008. Our partners for the first contest were the BSC, the Alcuin Society and the Antiquarian Booksellers Association of Canada (ABAC). Each year a different graphic designer designs our poster. The first poster was designed by Peter Cocking (Douglas & MacIntyre), the second  by Jennifer Griffiths (Emily Carr University) and the current poster is by Robert R. Reid.

The current posters, in English and French, have been formatted to be downloaded onto a standard 8 1/2” x 11” letter sized piece of paper. Please help us promote the contest by printing a copy for your local public library, secondary school, university or college or save the PDF and email to a friend.

If you represent an institution or library please contact the following to request printed colour copies of this year’s posters:



First Prize $2,500
Charlotte Ashley, Toronto, ON
The Works (and Quirks) of Alexandre Dumas pere

Second Prize $1,000
Vanessa Brown, London, ON
The L.M. Montgomery Collection in the Forest City

Third Prize $300
Nassem Hrab, Toronto, ON
The Complexities of Ordinary Life: Autobiographical Comics and Graphic Novels

Presentation of the prizes took place on the 24 June 2009 at the University of Toronto.

The National Post interviews each of the three winners.


First Prize $1,000
Justin Hanisch, Edmonton, AB
The History of Fish

Second Prize $500
Gregory Robert Freeman, Surrey, BC
The Tudors & Stuarts

Third Prize $250
Kieran Charles Ryan Fox, Vancouver, BC
Superlative Works from the Subcontinent

Presentation of the prizes took place on the 30 May 2011 at Simon Fraser University (Vancouver Campus).

Photo gallery of the winners receiving their cash prizes.


First Place $1,000
Samuel Jang 27 (Victoria, BC)
Aesop’s Fables

Second Place $500
David Fernández 28 (Scarborough, ON)
The Imaginary of Books: Homosexualities, Images, and Texts

Third Place $250
Gideon Foley 25 (Saskatoon, SK)
Tasteful Books

Presentation of the prizes took place on the 28 May 2012 at Simon Fraser University (Vancouver Campus) and the University of Waterloo, Ontario.

This years winning essays will be uploaded onto the BSC and ABE Books websites.